Photos: Naira Marley Wins First Major Award At Soundcity MVP (Full List Of Winners)

Photos: Naira Marley Wins First Major Award At Soundcity MVP (Full List Of Winners)

The long-awaited annual Soundcity MVP Awards finally took place last night at Eko Convention Centre. The glamorous event was attended by popular African and international artists all over the world.

And many Nigerian artistes shined as they bagged numerous awards, one of such winners is the controversial singer, Naira Marley, who clinched his first major Nigerian award at the 2020 Soundcity MVP Awards on Saturday.

His viral song ‘Soapy’ earned him the ‘Viewers’ Choice’ award. ‘Soapy’ is the singer’s most popular track and his sixth single of 2019. He dropped the track days after his release from prison.

The Marlian President beat Tiwa Savage (49-99), Chinko Ekun (Able God), Prince Kaybee (Banomoya), Shatta Wale (My Level), Burna Boy (On The Low), Rayvanny (Tetema), Zlatan (Zanku – Legwork) to win the ‘Viewers’ Choice’ award.

Popular singers like, Davido, Diamond Platinumz, Tekno, Joeboy, Fireboy,Tiwa Savage and some newbies dazzled the crowd with thrilling performances.

Some of the other winners of the night included Burna Boy, Prince Kaybee, Rema, Joeboy, Fireboy, Davido etc.

The show was declared open with a performance by songstress, GoodGirl LA. While South African media personality, Bonang Matheba, hosted the event.

The emergency of  Rema  as winner of the ‘Best New Act’ led to criticism and condemnation as some Twitter users  slammed the organisers and accused them of being partial.

The critics argued that Fireboy deserved to win the Best new MVP rather than Rema.

Photos and the full list of winners at the Soundcity MVP Award and their category below.

Best New MVP

FireBoy DML (NG)

JoeBoy (NG)

Marioo (TZ)

Rema (NG) – Winner

Simmy (SA)

Wendy Shay (GH)

Best Collaboration

Blow My Mind – Davido (NG)

Daz How Star Do – Skibii (NG)

Gugulethu – Prince Kaybee [SA] – Winner

Jama – DJ Mic Smith (GH)

Killin Dem – Burna Boy (NG)

Inama – Diamond PlatNumz (TZ)

Best Pop

Innos B (CG)

Nandy (TZ)

JoeBoy (NG) – Winner

Otile Brown (KE)

Kizz Daniel (NG)

Teni (NG)

Mayorkun (NG)

Rayvanny (TZ)

Naira Marley (NG)

Best Hip Hop

BlaqBonez (NG)

Falz (NG)

KHALIGRAPH Jones (KE) – Winner

Kwesta (SA)

Medikal (GH)

Shinski (KE)

Sarkodie (GH)

Reminisce (NG)

Ricky Rick (SA)

Zakwe (SA)

Best Duo

Black Motion (SA)

Blaq diamond (SA)

DopeNation (GH) – Winner

Ethic (KE)


View this post on Instagram


@adedimejilateef and @toyin_abraham presented the award for #Viewerschoice #smvp #soundcity #soundcitymvp #mvp

A post shared by Soundcity MVP Awards Festival (@soundcitymvp) on

Share This


Wordpress (1)
  • comment-avatar

    […] All copyrights for this article are reserved to Viral 1 internet […]

  • Disqus ( )